Wrestling wins DAC championship

Evan Gerike, Managing Editor

The wrestling team took first place in their DAC meet Saturday.
The boys traveled into Chesterton to face off against the other seven DAC teams. Hosts Chesterton finished in second, while Merrillville finished in third.
Portage’s victory was thanks to seven DAC champions, including Ty Haskins, Brock Peele, Colin Poynter, Miguel Pardon, Kris Rumpf, Kasper McIntosh and Ismael Cornejo.
The team ended up with 248 team points, ahead of Chesterton’s 214.5 and Merrillville’s 201.5.
For Portage, this year was the second DAC win in a row.
“We’ve been working really hard all summer and season. This is a small step as we head into the state series but it’s another step towards our goal. I believe we will win the state title; the whole team does,” Peele said.
Peele said the team was excited for their win.
“It’s always good winning as a team. The guys are really starting to come together,” Peele said.
The team plans on tackling their sectional match the same way as they have the rest of season – get the job done.
The sectional match is February 4th in Calumet.